The De Smet News

Tammy Albrecht receives teacher of the year award

Tammy Albrecht receives teacher of the year award

Amid applause from the co-workers who nominated her, Tammy Albrecht accepted the 2018 Teacher of the Year Award April 27 from De Smet School District Superintendent Abi Van Regenmorter.

“Not only does she strive for success in her classroom, she is willing to devote time and resources to ensure other staff members are successful as well,” said Van Regenmorter.

Albrecht completed her student teaching under former De Smet teacher and administrator Kathy Aughenbaugh, and she has taught at the Laura Ingalls Wilder Elementary School in De Smet for 30 years.

Her career began as a first-grade teacher, working alongside former first-grade teacher Helen Janish for two years.

Now retired, Janish said that she enjoyed teaching with Albrecht. She added that they would share ideas to accommodate students’ various learning styles.

“We learned from each other and I think that made both of us better teachers over the years,” Janish said.

“Both of these co-workers were great mentors when I was starting out in the teaching profession,” Albrecht said.

She taught fourth grade for several years with Elaine Behm, who inspired her to have students perform in play productions. “The best part is that it covers the fourth-grade speaking standard in an enjoyable way for the students,” Albrecht said.

She has spent the majority of her career in the fourth-grade classroom, teaching many of her cousins, nieces, nephews, former students’ children and even her own three children.

She shared that her favorite part of teaching is observing her students evolve throughout their fourth-grade year of learning. “I am always learning new methods of instruction and information right along side of the students,” Albrecht said.

Van Regenmorter, who is also the LIW elementary principal, said “Tammy’s energy and passion for education makes De Smet School District a better place for all ages!”

Posted on 05-04-2018

To view this article and others, check out our eEdition






Copyright © 2016-2019 The De Smet News & it's Licensors.