The De Smet News

Please send any correspondence to and not through this website. Thank-you!

Lady Bulldogs are state champions!

Lady Bulldogs are state champions!

Just three games — it doesn’t sound like much. But those three games are what it took for the Lady Bulldogs to clinch the title March 7-9 as the 2019 Class B State Girls Basketball Tournament champions at the Huron Arena.

With the help of dedicated fans, the coaches hard work, the players’ drive and determination and countless hours of practice De Smet finally had a payoff never before seen. The Lady Bulldogs are state champions for the first time in their history.

De Smet 49

Ethan 39

The De Smet Lady Bulldogs (#2, 23-1) faced off against the Ethan Rustlers (#1, 24-0)

While this game was not as tense as the one against Corsica-Stickney the night before, it was still a serious game with both teams having the goal of being the next state champions.

The score was tied twice, and the lead only changed two times throughout the game.

In the first period, De Smet outscored Ethan 15-9. In the second period Ethan outscored the Lady Bulldogs 12-9 bringing the halftime score to 24-21 with De Smet on top. In the third period De Smet outscored Ethan by four points bringing the game score at the end of the third to 35-28. In the fourth and final period the De Smet girls added 14 to their score, Ethan added just 11. The final score was 49-39 with the Lady Bulldogs as the new state champions.

De Smet’s lead scorer was Rynn Osthus with 15, followed by Autumn Wilkinson with 12. Kennadi Buchholz had seven, Raegan Burke had six and Reyna Beck had five.

The De Smet girls had 10 offensive and 16 defensive rebounds for a total of 26. Buchholz had seven of these, Beck had six, Burke and Kristen Poppen had four each.

The Lady Bulldogs were 16 of 42 from the field, eight of 21 from the three-point line and nine of 13 for free throws.

They had two steals, four blocks, 11 turnovers, 11 assists and 14 personal fouls.

Posted on 03-18-2019

To view this article and others, check out our eEdition






Copyright © 2016-2020 The De Smet News & it's Licensors.